The Masters by 10s

Since it’s the 10-year anniversary of Tiger’s first green jacket, I thought it would be fitting to look back in 10-year increments and see what we find in the Masters scrapbook.

1997: Tiger Woods wins his first Masters in record-breaking fashion. Golf hasn’t been the same since.

1987: Larry Mize stuns Greg Norman with a chip-in to win in a playoff. The Shark hasn’t been the same since.

1977: Tom Watson wins the first of his two green jackets, on his way to dethroning Jack Nicklaus as the world’s best golfer.

1967: After finishing third at the Masters in ’66, Gay Brewer wins with 280, his only major among 11 tour victories.

1957: Doug Ford wins three times, including the Masters, and is named player of the year.

1947: Jimmy Demaret wins the second of his three Masters titles. Demaret becomes the first three-time Masters winner.

1937: Byron Nelson, the gentleman golfer, claims the first of his two green jackets.

Enjoy this year’s Masters.

The Armchair Golfer

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.