Kraft Nabisco Championship: 25th Anniversary of JUMP

Kraft Nabisco Championship: 25th Anniversary of JUMP 1
Click for photo gallery.

THE 2013 KRAFT NABISCO CHAMPIONSHIP (KNC), the year’s first major on the LPGA Tour, gets underway tomorrow at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California. Sung Young Yoo defends her title. Stacy Lewis, the new world No. 1 and the 2011 champion, is one of the favorites. Lewis already has two wins this season.

It’s the 25th anniversary of “The Jump,” the annual splash down by the KNC winner in Poppie’s Pond. It all began with Amy Alcott in 1988. She was overcome with excitement and told her caddie Bill Kurre “let it rip.” In they went, and the rest is history.

Well, sort of.

Juli Inkster won in 1989. Inkster didn’t jump. Betsy King won in 1990. King didn’t jump. But then it happened. Alcott won again. And jumped again. Some more non-jumpers followed, but by 1994 when Donna Andrews won, the tradition had caught on.

Photo gallery of 25th anniversary of The Jump. See all the jumpers in action.

TV Schedule

All coverage provided by Golf Channel.

Thur, Apr 4 – 12:00 PM-3:00 PM EST

Thur, Apr 4 – 6:00 PM-9:00 PM EST

Fri, Apr 5 – 12:00 PM-3:00 PM EST

Fri, Apr 5 – 6:00 PM-9:00 PM EST

Sat, Apr 6 – 5:00 PM-9:00 PM EST

Sun, Apr 7 – 5:00 PM-9:00 PM EST

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

1 thought on “Kraft Nabisco Championship: 25th Anniversary of JUMP”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.