Golf Rule of the Week

Day 202 without playing golf

Q: A competitor accidentally causes his ball to move after he has addressed it in breach of Rule 18-2b. He is unsure whether the ball must be replaced or played from its new position. He announces that he will invoke Rule 3-3, places a second ball on the spot from which the original ball was moved and states that he wishes the second ball to count if the Rules permit. He plays the second ball first and then plays the original ball. Is the competitor’s procedure correct in terms of the order in which the balls were played?

A: Yes. Rule 3-3 does not require the original ball to be played first and, therefore, the competitor’s procedure was acceptable.

The Armchair Golfer

(Source: USGA)

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.