Golf Rule of the Day

Day 90 without playing golf

Q: A practical joker removes the flagstick from the hole and sticks it into the putting green some distance from the hole. The players approaching the green are unaware of this action and they play towards the flagstick and not the hole. Do the players have the option to replay?

A: No. In equity (Rule 1-4), the players must accept the resultant advantage or disadvantage.

Chalk up another reason why golf isn’t fair.

The Armchair Golfer

(Source: USGA)

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

2 thoughts on “Golf Rule of the Day”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.