A Brief History of the Claret Jug

Silver and shiny with the British Open winner’s name engraved on it, the Claret Jug is the most prized and recognizable trophy in all of golf.

And here’s something you might not know, especially if you live on the western side of the Atlantic. While it’s commonly known as the Claret Jug, its official name is The Golf Champion Trophy.

The Claret Jug replaced the Championship Belt in 1873. Tom Kidd was the first Open winner to receive the new trophy; however, Tom Morris Jr., the 1872 winner, was the first to have his name engraved on the Claret Jug.

Following the 1927 Open won by Bobby Jones at St. Andrews, The Royal and Ancient Golf Club decided to keep the Claret Jug and present future winners with a replica. Walter Hagen was the first to receive a replica Claret Jug in 1928, one of his four Open titles. Harry Vardon holds the record with six Open wins.

The original Claret Jug is on display at The Royal and Ancient Golf Clubhouse.

The Armchair Golfer

(Source: The Open Championship Official Website)

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.