2013 Presidents Cup Teams Set

THE TEAMS FOR THE 2013 PRESIDENTS CUP have been finalized. U.S. Captain Fred Couples added youth with his two captain’s picks, selecting Webb Simpson and 20-year-old Jordan Spieth, the youngest player to make the U.S. squad in the history of the event.

2013 Presidents Cup Teams Set 1
“I feel like [Spieth] is one of our top players,” Couples said, “even though he is only 20. I’m excited to have a young kid on the team. I left Keegan out two years ago, and that was a killer decision, and he has become one of the best young players in the game. It’s a team game, and everybody I talked to on the team wanted Spieth. He definitely deserves it.”

International Captain Nick Price picked two Presidents Cup rookies: Marc Leishman and Brendon de Jonge. Seven of twelve players on the International team are first-timers.

“[Monday] was one probably one of the toughest days of my life,” Price said. “I had it down to three guys—Marc, Brendon and Tim Clark….This is one of those times when you wish there were 13 members of the team.”

United States

Fred Couples (captain)

Tiger Woods

Brandt Snedeker

Phil Mickelson

Matt Kuchar

Jason Dufner

Keegan Bradley

Steve Stricker

Bill Haas

Hunter Mahan

Zach Johnson

Webb Simpson (captain’s pick)

Jordan Spieth (captain’s pick)


Nick Price (captain)

Adam Scott

Jason Day

Charl Schwartzel

Ernie Els

Louis Oosthuizen

Hideki Matsuyama

Branden Grace

Graham DeLaet

Richard Sterne

Angel Cabrera

Marc Leishman (captain’s pick)

Brendon de Jonge (captain’s pick)

The Presidents Cup will be played October 3-6 at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio.

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.