2010 Bob Jones Award Winner Wowed Hogan

HINT: IT’S A WOMAN, arguably the greatest to ever play the game. It’s not Annika Sorenstam or Patty Berg or Kathy Whitworth. The winner of the 2010 Bob Jones Award is Mary Kathryn “Mickey” Wright, the holder of four U.S. Women’s Open titles.

Presented each year since 1955, the Bob Jones Award “is given in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf” and “seeks to recognize a person who emulates Jones’ spirit, his personal qualities and his attitude toward the game and its players.”

Mickey Wright dominated women’s golf with a swing Ben Hogan called the best he’d ever seen. Byron Nelson concurred. Wright collected 82 LPGA victories, including 13 majors. She recorded 10 or more wins in four consecutive seasons, from 1961 to 1964. She quit playing the tour full-time at the age of 34.

“The USGA has always meant a great deal to me, and it means a lot that they think enough of me to give me the award,” Wright said in a USGA announcement.

Wright will receive the award on February 6 at the USGA’s annual meeting in Pinehurst, North Carolina. She is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame and was named the greatest female golfer of the 20th century by The Associated Press.

Other women who have received the Bob Jones Award include Patty Berg (1963), Joanne Carner (1981), Betsy Rawls (1996), Nancy Lopez (1998), Judy Rankin (2002) and Louise Suggs (2007).

−The Armchair Golfer

Photo of author
Neil Sagebiel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.